5/22/15 (Elijah) 

Another incredible look at this path through the valley of shadows, and the Good Shepherd who leads His people through it: 

From Brenna: 

“Happy Birthday to Elijah!!  Nineteen today!

 

  It is 3:30 a.m.  Elijah had a fairly restful 8 hours.  They put him back on another pain medicine – so he receives one IV and one in his PEG tube.  The neurosurgeon is anxious to spread out the pain relief more than every two hours in an effort to wake him up.  He needs to wake up and follow simple commands in order to progress to rehab. I won’t belabor the other possibilities right now.   Increasing time between pain medicine proves to be very difficult.  Distinguishing between pain and his ‘neural storming’ is essentially a guessing game.  At times his heart rate soars to 180 with respiration at more than 50 per minute his arms posture and legs stiffen, his eyes fixate and do not blink and he sweats profusely – pouring down his face.  And, to our chagrin he has recently begun grinding his teeth.   Usually the only way to give him any relief is the pain medication and sometimes that does not work or we are too soon between doses.  He has had one of these neural storms for the past hour until his heart rate got to 198 and they gave meds early.  Even then it took us another 30 minutes or more to help him calm down.  Now I am wide awake.  It is quiet and so I write.

 

Storms.  We all have them.  Some more severe than others. And truth be told we all make a bigger deal out of some than we should.  It is all a matter of perspective.   Jesus did say, in this life you will have troubles. He also reminded us “I have overcome the world”.

 

Saturday night May 16th was my night to be home with the kids.  As I was shutting the kitchen blinds I noticed the words I had printed on my kitchen window nearly two weeks before.  “Oh Happy Day!”  I had written these words in celebration of the life we were living at the time.  They are written backwards so that when people come to our house, they might see the words. Determinedlyerased those words and replaced them with “We will Praise Him in the Storm”.  

 

Amazingly, Sunday morning I received two separate texts from special friends while I was at the hospital.  They both referenced storms:

 

1. “Be of good courage as you wait upon Him, Your faithfulness and willingness to praise him in this storm is such a light for those around you!  He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed!  Praying the waves of the sea would be hushed

 

2. “Singing prayers and praise this morning on behalf of all of you.  May you find peace in the midst of this storm today.  ((hugs))”

 

That same day was the first day that Dr. Neurosurgeon mentioned the ‘neural storming’.  By now both Randy and I are well acquainted with the symptoms of these neuro storms.  By now we wish the storm was over.  It isn’t.  We wait.  

 

Thankfully in the midst of storms  the Lord provides rain showers.   Tuesday May 19th, I was driving to the hospital in the rain.  Quite honestly, I love rain.  But that day I was tired of the rain – it was raining when Elijah had his accident and it seems to have not stopped raining since.  Literally and figuratively.  My spirit was parched, my soul dried up and discouraged.  Even more so when I arrived at ICU and the staff was frantically preparing Elijah for a CAT scan to check what they thought to be more internal injuries.   Would this rain ever stop? 

 

In His perfect timing, God sent showers of encouragement to me right then!  An unknown number came across my phone as a missed call.   A brave, willing, compassionate young man made a phone call to a discouraged family that he didn’t even know!  He left a message saying that one day what we were going through ‘would be a distant memory’.  When he was 17, he had an accident on I-25.  He himself had suffered a tragic accident that had resulted in multiple leg fractures.  He was close to Elijah’s age at the time and now, 3 years later, was fully recovered and living a full life.  Embracing how God changed his life through this accident, he told me that he would not change a thing that he had gone through.  He would not go back and change his storm.  Our Lord had refined his faith through the many miracles that he had experienced in his storm.   He encouraged me to believe our Lord will do that for us too.

 

The story didn’t end with a voicemail.  We talked on the phone, texted and, finally, he asked if he could come pray with us.  He purchased a ticket to fly home so that he could pray with Elijah, Randy and me! We look forward to meeting and praying with this young man today! The refreshing rain shower in the midst of this storm.   Thank you, Luke!  

 

May I always be sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit to encourage someone else in their storm.  And may Elijah be that young man one day.   

 

 

The storm has not yet subsided, but may we find the strength and faith to endure and to continue to praise Him.

 

~Brenna, for all

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “5/22/15 (Elijah) 

  1. One night, I was reading in Matthew , in chapter 20,about how Jesus walked on the water. Jesus had sent the disciples on ahead of him. Their little boat was being battered by the waves and the winds were contrary. Mark says that, from the land, Jesus SAW the disciples rowing hard and struggling. Jesus had made them get into their boats and go while he dismissed the crowds, after feeding the 5000. I googled and found that the fourth watch meant maybe around 3 AM. Why did Jesus wait until 3 in the morning to come to their aid? Why indeed. God knows, we don’t. Why does God allow us to struggle and suffer the battering of waves and contrary winds? He won’t make us do that any longer than necessary. When He is ready, He will show up and calm the storm. Here is the link to where I ended up after googling fourth watch. I love it! It’s not a long read.
    http://www.sermoncentral.com/sermons/the-fourth-watch-of-the-night-jim-miller-sermon-on-doubt-58514.asp

    Liked by 2 people

  2. God is so awesome. This morning my Bible verse was Mark 4:39-41. Jesus said to the waves “Quiet. Be still”. The waves obeyed him. During my meditation God reminded me that we as believers have the same power he has and can also speak to the waves with the authority he has given us. Thanks for an update, Brenna. Watching Elijah at this time must be so heartwrenching for you and Randy. Know we are praying for Elijah, you and Randy and the kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy birthday Elijah. May today bring you some quiet and lots of healing rest. You have grown into a beautiful young man and I hope that when I next visit US we can reconnect, since I haven’t seen you since you were about 4. You have a wonderful family and so much support that it is a beautiful thing to see. Such is the way in a Christian family. May your mum’s word soon be ‘recovery’. Prayers and hugs from your Australian cousins. Love Deb

    Like

  4. Everyday since this has happened I have been praying for Elijah and Autumn and for the all the family and caretakers! After suffering from alot of the same injuries 25 years ago I can relate to so many of their issues, keeping up with the pain is the most important and rest, the brains need time to heal and God’s healing hands will do this… patience is the key. I was in a coma for 3 weeks and 6 days after that they had a hard time keeping up with me. I pray that they get the rest and pain relief that they need to HEAL in their time… not ours. Please remember that all baby steps are gaint steps for them! Relax and breathe. .” Do not be anxious about anything ” Philippines 4:6 Peace, hope and love to you all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cherie —
      Thank you so very much for your prayers, and sharing part of your story with us. How amazing. It so completely confirms what we have been feeling, as far as just giving his brain however long it needs to rest. You have been a huge encouragement this morning! 🙂
      much love and thanks,
      Haley

      Like

  5. I don’t know either family but I do know haley. Reading this blog has brought back so many memories as my brother suffered a tramatic brain injury due to a car accident 20 years ago. He was 13 at the time and I was 11. Watching my family and brother go thru all of what both families are going thru was such a struggle as a young girl. But seeing God working and feeling his presence was something that changed my life forever! Strangly those moments are some of my most cherished moments. The pain and fear, waiting and anger I remember feeling, are covered and replaced by the impact of Gods mercy and grace in those moments. It leaves me in awe to this very day. My brother still struggles to this day with seizures, short term memory loss etc. and sometimes I don’t understand God’s plan but I know God is good and I still trust that he is just. My prayers are with u all. Especially the siblings of both Elijah and Autumn. U are in the midst of God’s holy hands…life changing stuff! Soak it up and seek Him! Never loose ur faith!!
    Calli

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just found this website. I knew there had been a wreck, but just found this. My heart breaks for you Brenna, but at the same time I’m so amazed. I’m brought to tears, overwhelmed by the faith and the power of God’s grace I am reading! It’s a witness of God’s love and aid to his children. It testifies to me of psalms 23 when he says “Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies” The Lord is feeding, nourishing and strengthening the faith of his children in the midst of the battle with hope and encouragement! Our continued prayers are with you all! May God’s blessings rest upon you. Much love
    -Roberta

    Like

  7. Casting crowns has a song that goes right along with storms. How sweet to see all of you shine so bright in this hard time in your lives.
    Matt 11:28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
    He is God and will never leave you and he will see you through this storm
    deut 31: 6 Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.
    Praying for all of you
    Love in Christ, Kimberly

    Like

Leave a Reply

