5/16/15

From Cinnamon, Autumn’s mother: 

“Today was a day of mixed emotions.  Autumn was extubated and is breathing on her own.  She’s not really awake and when I asked her if she knew who was talking to her she mouthed “no”.  My heart hurts right now.  On top of that, her sodium levels have been swinging from low to high.  Her critical care doc came in and said he just hasn’t seen anything like it and that it isn’t good for her brain to have such big shifts in those levels.

Yesterday a dear friend told us that he was thinking over the crash and all the ways that God had shown Himself.  He equated those moments with the memorial stones that the Israelites set up as they entered the Promised land.  Then, that same day, I spoke with Brenna (Elijah’s mom) and she told me that the nurse told her that we can’t measure Elijah and Autumn’s progress in terms of “milestones” , but in terms of “inch stones”.

I read Joshua 4 today, where the Israelites cross the Jordan.  The Lord miraculously piles up the turbulent waters so they can cross on dry land.  Then, a member if each tribe collects a stone from the middle of the river.  Those stones become the memorial stones that Joshua sets up, “This is so that all the people of the earth may know that the Lord’s hand is mighty, and so that you may always fear the Lord your God.” (‭Joshua‬ ‭4‬:‭24‬ HCSB).

So, out of the turbulent waters came the memorial of the mighty hand of The Lord.  I will admit that I’m weary, tired, anxious, and scared, but I’m looking at the stones that have come from this turbulence and I’m trusting in the mighty hand of God that not only hung the stars and holds the planets, but also cradles Elijah and Autumn right now.”

9 thoughts on “5/16/15

  1. “Lord, help!” They cried in their trouble, and He saved them from their distress. He sent forth His Word and healed them, snatching them from the door of death. Let them praise the Lord for His great love and for the wonderful things He has done for them. Let them offer sacrifices of thanksgiving and sing joyfully about His glorious acts. — Psalm 107:19-22

    Oh Jehovah Rapha, please send forth Your Word and heal, comfort, bring peace and restoration. Let Autumn and Elijah have sweet moments with You during this time of suffering and healing — allow them to see and hear Your angels praising You. Please continue to reveal Yourself in powerful ways to Scott, Cinnamon, Randy, and Brenna. Let them experience Your presence because You say You are close to the broken hearted and You save those crushed in spirit — Psalm 34:18

    Standing with you in petition, prayer, faith and thanksgiving. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We serve a God of “the suddenly’s”. Your words give me hope. Imagine in the midst of your chaos, YOU are giving ME hope. God’s plans are always so much better than anything i could come up with. Love and prayers from sunny Florida!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lord, what a long journey this has been for the families this week. I worked surgery with a neurosurgeon for two years and one year with traumatic head injuries. It requires waiting as you said yesterday Cinnamon and patience. A year and half ago I came off of the vent and did not know up from down for at least two days and it was very slow getting stabilized after that. God reminded me of a meditation he gave me that I had to use today when I started to think about Autumn and Elijah. GOD IS LOVE It is easy for me to remember as is the word HELP. I hope the families are all taking long breaks from the hospital to regain strength and perspective. I will continue to pray for all of you. I praise God for Autumn’s success today. Hallelujah.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The word “inchstone” is great. We all have inchstone moments, maybe not like Elijah and Autumn, but inchstones nonetheless.

    Like

  5. Just reread you post and wanted to encourage you. Autumn answered a question which means her mentation is intact. She mouthed a word which is probably as important as vocalization…Brenna would know that better than I.

    Like

  6. Cinnamon my heart just breaks for you and your family. Every time I read an update I have rears in my eyes for all of you. I’m praying and I sent the link on to my new church family here in Oklahoma and they are praying as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

