5/14/15 (Autumn) 

From Cinnamon: 

“Today is another day of waiting and resting in The Lord.  They attempted to remove her from the vent yesterday, but it appears her trachea may be too swollen at this time.

 She has moments of agitation and trying to pull her tube out, but we’ve been told that sometimes this behavior is common with frontal lobe brain injuries.  She’s on pain meds and some sedation.  So we’re just resting.  

 I think I’ve allowed myself to live in a false sense of “security” in thinking something like this wouldn’t happen to my kids.  My husband is a cancer survivor and he is currently on the liver transplant list, waiting for a new liver.  I think because of all of his medical trials, I thought my kids would be exempt.

A few days ago The Lord reminded me of
Horatio Spafford and then this morning He brought Job to mind.  When Job finally lifted his voice to The Lord and questioned his circumstances, The Lord didn’t explain “why” to Job, but He did show Job who He is.  I was reminded of when The Lord asked Job,  

“…Where were you when I established the earth? Tell Me, if you have understanding. Who fixed its dimensions? Certainly you know! Who stretched a measuring line across it? What supports its foundations? Or who laid its cornerstone while the morning stars sang together and all the sons of God shouted for joy? Who enclosed the sea behind doors when it burst from the womb…”
(Job‬ ‭38‬:‭4-8‬ HCSB)

read through chapters 38-42 and saw that The Lord never told Job he couldn’t question Him. Job realized who he was and who God is, and bowed before Him.  Then, The Lord restored to Job what he had lost and MORE!  I felt like The Lord was showing me that our questions, and the questions that Elijah and Autumn will have, are ok. . . but when all of us bow before Him, who ‘fixed the belt of Orion’, He will restore to them what they lost and give them more.  I don’t know what that looks like, but I have to believe it will be pretty amazing!!”

Truly, He upholds us with His own pierced Hands. 

Here’s another song that has felt very applicable. 

With you in prayer, 

|| Haley 

11 thoughts on “5/14/15 (Autumn) 

  1. Oh Cinnamon, please keep writing, my friend! It is so very therapeutic for you and for us! You and Haley bring me to tears every time I read these posts. Standing with you in prayer, worship, and faith! ❤️

    We have been singing Fall Afresh by Bethel and lifting up Autumn and Elijah:
    Spirit of the Living God come fall afresh on them, come awake them from their sleep, blow through the caverns of their souls, pour in them to overflow.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much! It’s been so long since I heard that song, but that so matches the cry of my heart –especially for my DLB ( ‘dear little brother’, my long-time nickname for Elijah 🙂 and his lovely Autumn.

      It has repeatedly been proven to me that Jesus is the only thing that makes this journey walk-able.

      || Haley

      Liked by 1 person

      • What a very precious family you are and have, Haley! You are a gifted writer and conveyer of all that is happening! Though I don’t know you I am so thankful for you and am covering you in prayer. I just read your mom’s update (which again brought many tears) and am praying for her and your whole family. How precious it was to read her heartfelt words. Keep playing that donated piano!!! I love to hear of the songs you are singing and playing…it knits our hearts together (all of us reading these posts). And, thank you for your love and care for your DLB and lovely Autumn and for your kindness and thoughtfulness in keeping all of us updated. I ask for and trust God’s blessings and refreshment over you all, even in, and especially in the suffering.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Tiffany!

        I am actually only “Spirit-related,” as Brenna calls it, to Elijah & family… we’ve just grown up together.
        Thank you so much for praying for/with us –I’m listening to “fall afresh” on repeat. 🙂

        Like

  2. Lord, I pray that you will remove all pain from Autumn while she cones off the vent. I pray that she will come off the vent successfully in the next 24 hours. I pray that Scott and Cinnamon will be strengthened by you and comforted by you continuously. Please Lord give wisdom to all the nurses and doctors. Thank you for the healing that you are performing in Autumn’s body . In Jesus’ mighty name AMEN.

    Like

  3. I an encouraged by your words and faith.
    God will restore Elijah and Autumn in His timing!
    I am touched by the Faith in God that is being pored out Throughout all of this time of pain, and sufferin. Our Lord Jesus is in this, and He is answering prayers, even though we don’t see all of His answers.
    I have been praying and will continue to lift Elijah, Autumn and thier families up in prayer. I pray for pain relief, comfort, healing and wisdom over them and over the doctors and nurses proving their care.
    Sing praises unto the Lord for His faithfulness and Love endures forever.
    Love you all ❤️🙏

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cinnamon thank you for sharing your heart. My mother’s heart breaks with yours and I am inspired by your faith which clings to God’s goodness in the midst of your trial. I will keep praying that God will surround you with his love and strength and that his healing touch will restore Autumn and Elijah in His perfect timing. Your witness is so powerful right now and God’s beauty is shining through your brokenness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

